Courtney A. Griffin ~ Writer | Designer| Social Media Junkie | Soon to be entrepreneur

The life of a Michigan State University College Girl, turned Chicago Native. Continue the journey with me!

Independent Children!

Japanese children are so independent! I have seen so many children on subways and trains by themselves! These children are not old either I have seen some as young as first grade. Or atleast I think their in the first grade.

I could not image seeing young children in America, taking the bus and taking themselves to and from school. I know some children do it, but it is definitely not a majority.

I told myself when I first got here, the transportation system can’t be that hard if these children do it by themselves. The other day, I saw a little girl no older than 7 doing her homework on the subway. She had a mobile phone, and it was larger than her face.

We did here from Dr. Smith at Waseda that younger children have more worker than the older children. As you get older your workload decreases, the opposite of the US. I am sure that has something to do with the independence of their children.

Filed under: Assignments, Culture

One Response

  1. robcolejpn says:

    It was amazing how “independent” these children were. It was quite a difference from what we’re used to seeing. It’s almost unheard of for children over here to go off to school, ride the subway, etc by themselves. Usually a parent is with them to show them the way. But I just answered why that is. American children are so dependent because that’s how they are raised. They don’t receive responsibility until an older age where Japanese students are given responsibility at a young age and thus become Independent. At least that’s the way I see it.

Leave a Reply

Courtney A.Griffin

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 1,451 hits
