Courtney A. Griffin ~ Writer | Designer| Social Media Junkie | Soon to be entrepreneur

The life of a Michigan State University College Girl, turned Chicago Native. Continue the journey with me!

I’m back in America. Now what?

Leaving Japan was bittersweet. I was happy to be coming home, but sad to be leaving one of the greatest adventures of my life. I was happy that I was no longer going to be considered a foreigner and although I am still not a majority, I see more people that look like me in America then in Japan.

As soon as I came home, I started to miss the food. I was enjoying sushi, nothing like the kind I eat in East Lansing. I missed the curry especially and even Mos Burger. Those were just the starters.

I missed the clean streets! No trash, no debris but, do not get me wrong I was excited to be driving. Taking the subway was just a little hectic for me.

I was also shocked, usually when I return from a trip I get sick and I didn’t! Boy, was I surprised! I think it was the fact that, people who felt like they were just a little sick wore a mask. They did not want to make anyone else sick.

I even missed something I thought that didn’t even phase me; The Toilets! I went to  a public restroom and realized that the bathrooms were nothing like the ones in Japan. No special toilets with special buttons, and they were even cleaner.

All in All, I definitely enjoyed my experience. It was more than I could ask for. If I spoke Japanese, I could see myself living there.

Filed under: Assignments, Culture, Technology

3 Responses

  1. kevinb18 says:

    Yeah in the last days of being in Japan I was thinking I can’t wait to go home I miss American food and etc but then after I got here a few days later I was driving thinking why did I want to come back here again I miss Japan. I thought I hated the subway travel but it was kind of a nice way to travel. I just miss the environment of Japan. Its an expensive place to live but maybe if I cooked my food there instead of eating out all the time I could save a lot more money.

  2. MeriInJapan says:

    I was torn the day we left because part of me wanted to stay and explore more of Tokyo, but another part of me really wanted the familiarity of home. I definitely want to go back to Japan someday, though as I explained in one of my blog posts, I don’t think I’d ever want to live there. I can tell you one thing for sure, I do not miss getting all sweaty while running to catch the trains!

  3. vidajimenez says:

    I have always been fascinated with the Japanese culture and even though I missed my filipino and american cuisine I think I could have adapted to the food. I loved the experience and I wish I had the chance to stay a few extra days. But I am honestly considering job hunting there!Anyone willing to go on an adventure after graduation?!

Leave a Reply

Courtney A.Griffin

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 1,451 hits
